Husker Du, Replacements, Neil Young among best reissues in 2017

Husker Du

My favorite releases of reissues, rarities and collections this year included rock, pop and punk music from the ’70s and ’80s as well as some very recent material from a contemporary singer songwriter.

Chicago archival record label Numero Group does an excellent job with its reissues. But these guys outdid themselves with the phenomenal Savage Young Du, the early recordings of ’80s Minneapolis punks Husker Du.

Likewise, For Sale: Live at Maxwell’s 1986, showcased the live performance of another legendary Minneapolis band, the Replacements.

Neil Young’s Hitchhiker was recorded in 1976 but was just released this year.

U-Men was a 1980s band from Seattle that is getting some notice again thanks to an anthology released in 2017.

Angel Olsen had some great unreleased material, most notably the song Special from the My Woman recording sessions. Olsen’s Phases, a collection of demos and B sides, is worth a listen.

Chicago’s HoZac Records put out some interesting archival releases, including a collection of 1973-74 recordings by Oister, a pop band led by Dwight Tilley.

Women’s March: The top 10 albums of 2017

Big Thief

Women made their voices heard in 2017 in many ways. Music was no exception. Women, as band leaders and solo acts, created incredible art this year.

My best-of list partly reflects this trend. Women dominate All the Young Punks’ year-end rankings with seven of the top 10 albums of 2017.

The top four are ATYP pastime favorites Big Thief, Palehound, St. Vincent and Waxahatchee, all turning in exceptional and intelligent albums.

The top 10 also includes Downtown Boys (led by the tenacious Victoria Ruiz), Japanese Breakfast and Nadia Shah.

Beyond the top 10, there were amazing releases from Land of Talk, Julien Baker, EMA and others. Look here for the remainder of the top 40.

1. Big Thief – Capacity

2. Palehound – A Place I’ll Always Go

3. St. Vincent – Masseduction

4. Waxahatchee – Out in the Storm

5. Destroyer – Ken

6. Downtown Boys – Cost of Living

7. Kevin Morby – City Music

8. Father John Misty – Pure Comedy

9. Japanese Breakfast – Soft Sounds from Another Planet

10. Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination

See the rest of the top albums here.

2017 best albums: The rest of the top 40

Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile

Here are the rest of the top 40 albums of 2017 listed in alphabetical order by artist.

Click here to see this year’s top 10.

John Andrews & the Yawns

Julien Baker – Turn Out the Lights

Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile – Lotta Sea Lice

Mac Blackout Band – Burning Alive

Blanck Mass – World Eater

The Courtneys – The Courtneys II

EMA – Exile in the Outer Ring

The Feelies – In Between

Fresh & Onlys – Wolf Lie Down

Kendrick Lamar – Damn

Land of Talk – Life After Youth

LCD Soundsystem – American Dream

The National – Sleep Well Beast

Oh Sees – Orc

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart – The Echo of Pleasure

Pile – A Hairshirt of Purpose

Priests – Nothing Feels Natural

Rays – Rays

Run the Jewels – RTJ3

Ty Segall – Ty Segall

Sheer Mag – Compilation

Splashh – Waiting a Lifetime

Vince Staples – Big Fish Theory

Colin Stetson – All This I do for Glory

Torres – Three Futures

Uniform – Wake in Fright

The War on Drugs – A Deeper Understanding

Kamasi Washington – Harmony of Difference

Woods – Love is Love

The xx – I See You

Musicians, labels push for net neutrality


Hundreds of musicians — from Jeff Tweedy to Ian MacKaye to Killer Mike — and dozens of record labels — from Chicago’s Bloodshot to Sub Pop — are adding their voices to a last-ditch effort to preserve an open and neutral Internet.

The artists and labels just sent a letter to the U.S. Federal Communications Commission asking the government body to not repeal the practice of net neutrality. The request comes before a December 14 FCC vote.

“We urge the Federal Communications Commission to protect the open internet as a vehicle for free expression and collaboration,” the signees say in their letter.

The group also encourages everyone to submit comments through a form on this site.

Other musicians signing include ATYP faves Downtown Boys, EMA, Craig Finn, Mike Watt, Neko Case, Priests, R.E.M., Speedy Ortiz and Superchunk. A fuller list is here.